Meatless (and Gluten Free) Monday

Is it just me, or did that weekend go extremely quickly? I enjoyed my relaxing and uneventful two days playing “catch-up” and getting things done I’d needed to do for awhile. 

Friday night I met up with some friends in downtown DC for a few drinks, and Saturday I caught up on some errands and watched the football game with a few friends. Yesterday I (drumroll please!) reached the 7 mile mark for my half-marathon! I have about 8 weeks left of training before the big day, March 16. I’m both nervous and excited, and mostly thankful I still have time before then to get up to that point.

Sticking to fruit, veggies, and lean meats has greatly boosted my energy after the holidays. Running is a lot easier when you’re fueled with the right food, so last night I went to Trader Joes and bought the healthy goods! I baked two sweet potatoes in the oven as a jump-start in my weekday lunches, and I started putting my gluten-free Monday meal together.

healthy groceries
The healthy goods…


I began my day with gluten-free oatmeal (steel-cut oatmeal is also gluten-free in case you didn’t know… I didn’t!). I added 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, a dollop of almond milk and a generous amount of cinnamon. I happen to be cinnamon-obsessed, but you can add to your taste. Oatmeal is my absolute favorite breakfast because it’s filling but doesn’t give you that bloated feeling you get with certain fatty foods. It’s loaded with fiber, antioxidants, and there’s little to no sugar or fat. The fiber prevents you from crashing mid-morning like certain foods do, so I feel energized until lunch. You can find information on more oatmeal benefits here.

And for my healthy lunch…

gluten free

Sweet potato, mango slices, carrots and hummus, an apple, and a few pieces of dark chocolate. 

Have a happy healthy Monday!

Leave a Reply

